Daily Prompt: With or Without You

Family and the holidays generally go hand in hand with one another. Every year I crave my mom’s recipes and my grandma’s favorite recipes for Thanksgiving. Not only do I crave their food, but I can’t wait to pig out! As the years passed, I decided to learn how to cook the famous family recipes for the holidays. I sat down with my mom and made the grocery list, went shopping for all the ingredients and started cooking. Before you knew it, my mom stopped cooking all together and I was now doing all the cooking.

After staying up pulling an all-nighter cooking the night before Thanksgiving, I would pack up all the food Thanksgiving Day and haul it all over to my mom’s house. A few years of that, I was exhausted! I couldn’t take it anymore. So, the following year I drew my line in the sand! I told my family I was cooking, of course. However I was NOT packing it all up and traveling with it to mom’s. I was not leaving the comfort of my own home. I was not. I was not. I was not. This Thanksgiving was going to be at mom’s without me!

I told them. Or at least I thought I did. To my surprise, the family showed up at my house on Thanksgiving! I thought I was exhausted before,with everyone at my house, I was exhausted and beyond! The next year, I went back to the old way. As the famous saying goes, “If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it!” Lol

Leave a Reply

