Play Your Cards Right

I need x-y or z. So, I’ll take whatever I can get. Scratch that! I beg to differ. When it comes to dating and relationships, I want what I want and I’m gonna get what I want. Take that!

Ladies, Mr. Pitiful (Otis Redding) is not Mr. Right no matter how much they beg Baby I Need Your Loving ( Four Tops). Men, Stop! In The Name Of Love (The Supremes). You both know as well as I do, Something Just Ain’t Righ (Keith Sweat) and Once You Get Started (Rufus feat. Chaka Kahn), it’s hard to stop.

But you don’t understand, you say? Oh, no! I get it. It’s Complicated (Rihanna), you say? It’s Tricky (RUN DMC), yes. Not complicated at all.

So, don’t be Silly (Deniece Williams)! Play your cards right from the start!

What card are you going to play? When? Why?

7 thoughts on “Play Your Cards Right

    1. I apologize for the delay in responding-fighting sinus headaches. I digress.
      Ok. Take this for example. Scenario #1:
      Have you ever heard the phrase “When life gives you lemons, make lemonade?” Yet, how can you make lemonade without all the ingredients? So, you go to neighbor #1 and ask to borrow ( when you’re really not borrowing, you’re keeping it because you really can’t give the ingredients back once you use them). They tell you they don’t have everything you need, but they have some things. Essentially x, y and z. You say cool; I’ll talk whatever I can get. Then, you got to the next neighbor and the next and the next until you have everything you need. Then and only then can you combine them with the lemons and make lemonade. I’m saying scratch that. Go to the store because you know it has everything you need. Or if you really can only go to your neighbor, don’t take no for an answer. So to guarantee you get all that you need, go to the one who can give it ALL to you. One stop shopping, Baby!!!

      How about this example. Scenario #2:
      I needed a car because I was tired of catching the bus back and forth to college. I wanted a new car ( I mean, who doesn’t!), but I didn’t have new car money. Nor, did I have new car money in your budget. What’s a girl to do? I sat down and made a plan. I figured out my monthly expenses, subtracted them from my monthly income and used that number as my starting point. Then I looked into a lit of car insurance places with a guess-tamation of what car insurance would possibly cost on a new or used car. Subtracted the two an bingo-bango! I had my possible monthly car payment. I took that number in my head car shopping and refused to purchase a car for nothing more than that number. Not a penny more!!!! When it came down to it, I walked away from a deal for $20. That might not sound like a lot to you, but to me, myself and I ( the people financially supporting me!), it was a lot! In the end, I got what I wanted….and not a penny more!

      When it comes to the songs, I’m just adding a little fun and humor to it. Just like my name, I love music!!!

      In essence, with any situation go get yours (legally, morally and ethically right of course)!!! Have you ever played sports and you need to score. The cheerleaders are on the sidelines singing ‘Go! Go! Get ’em! Get ’em! And when you get ’em, get ’em, ooh! Ahh! Ooh! Ahh!’ If your lookin’ for a 5 foot 5 Carmel cutie, then by all means GO GET YOURS! Go! Go! Get her! Get her! And when you get her, get her, ooh! Ahh! (There I go again with sons/singing). Lol And I’m not mad at you at all!!!

      Get it now?

      Like

    2. Now, when it comes to relationships, since we are talking about relationships, if you want a, b & c, don’t complain later when you only have letter ‘a.’ You have the choice to accept or not to accept what is presented to you. So, when it comes to choosing choose right from the very beginning! Play your cards right from the very start!!!!!

      Like

  1. I agree! Most of us (myself included) have at some point settles for someone! We make the mistake of telling ourselves “I want this, but its ok he has this” NO! like you said “I want what I want, and I’m gonna get what I want” lol

    Like

    1. YES! YES! You’re not going to be lonely for the rest of your life and yhey are not the last person on earth. Don’t believe the hype! Instead, Hold Tight. Be like Nike and JUST DO IT. They will either get with it or get to steppin’. Lol

      Hold Tight – by change

      Like

Leave a Reply

