Do Over

Have you ever heard the phrase “Do you”? I have a lot. What does that mean? Well, it means whatever defines, describes or outlines who you are, then so be it. Only you know what that really is, so be like Nike just do it you!
Cool. I’m feeling like Patti LaBelle I Got A New Attitude! I’m ready! I’m ready to make it happen from head to toe! I’m Looking For A New Love and try something new….new curling iron for starters.
If you’re going to do it, do it right. Right?

Let’s get started. But, wait. What’s wrong with this picture????

IMG_0933.JPG

Wait. Where’s the handle?? I’m confused. Am I missing something??? So, I go (back) to the box. Still confused. So, now I pull out the instructions to read. I mean, who reads the instructions on a curling iron??? Me!!!! Well, what-ya-know! I didn’t get a new curling iron. To my surprise, I got a wand. A wand! What the hellicopter! Am I now a super hero and this “wand” makes me have super powers??? I wave the wand in the air. Nothing happens. Hmmm. I read more. I need a glove. Oh, no! Mister Bill!. A glove??? With the glove, I can touch the wand and wrap my hair around it. YOU HAVE GOT TO BE KIDDING ME?! I don’t want Shirley Temple curls. But, I guess that’s what I’m gonna get. I start looking inside the box thinking where’s the glove??? To my surprise, no glove. YOU HAVE GOT TO BE KIDDING ME?! I say to myself again. I am not doing it right or nothing right for that matter. Oy vey!

I realize, just like anything, pay attention. What you see is what you get. I got something different than what I wanted and needed. The same goes with what you hear. In actuality, what you hear is what it really is. The truth. And just like any relationship, friendship or companionship, pay attention. Do it! Do it right from the start.

Question: What relationship do you want to “do over?” Why?

2 thoughts on “Do Over

Leave a Reply

